Lettuce Members The Motet Form New Band MNTN LION Announce Upcoming Album [Videos]


Friday, Salad drummer Adam deitch announced the official formation of a new group, LION MNTN. The group, with Deitch, The motet‘s Joey porter (keys), and Garrett sayers (bass) in addition to Laitue’s Adam smirnoff (guitar), also announced an upcoming album, still untitled.

“I just made a record for love,” Deitch wrote in a Facebook post. “The band is called MNTN LION, because we’re here in Colorado. Can’t wait to finish this and in your funk loving ears! “

Related: PREMIERE: The Motet Performs With Members Of Lettuce, Turkuaz, PPPP At Brooklyn Comes Alive [Full Video]

Smirnoff added in a Publish “The project formerly known as Let-tet or Lit-tet now has a name and an album on the way. From Colorado, MNTN LION is there.

The post contained videos of follow-up songs from MNTN LION in the Colorado studio. Separate videos highlighted Smirnoff’s soaring solos, the dancing grooves of the rhythm section, and the funkified melodies of Porter’s touches.

While they did not yet have a name, Smirnoff, Deitch, Sayers and Porter originally reunited last year in Democracy comes to life, a one-day, non-partisan virtual music festival aimed at harnessing the power of music to have a critical impact on civic engagement. There the funky quartet presented a rendition of Weather report‘s “Teen Town”.

The eight-minute take of the jazz fusion classic highlighted some excellent chemistry between the quartet, serving as a prelude to what will follow with this upcoming project. MNTN LION hasn’t shared a release date for the album so stay tuned to Deitch Facebook page for more information as it becomes available.

Below, check out the quartet’s original performance, filmed last year for Democracy Comes Alive.

Members of Laitue x The Motet – “Teen Town” (Weather) – Democracy comes to life

The ‘Comes Alive’ tradition continues later this year with Denver comes to life on December 4, 2021 in Denver, CO’s Mission ballroom.

The carefully curated event features national tours like Tank and the Bangas, Judith Hill, DJ logic in addition to the debut of a new group, Wake up hike, with Eye Burbridge (Dead & Company), guitarists Steve kimock (Phil Lesh and his friends) and Eric krasno (Soulive), keyboardist holly bowling (Ghost Light), drummer Jeff Sipe (Col. Bruce Hampton and the Aquarium Rescue Unit), saxophonist Skerik, and singer / trumpeter Jennifer hartswick (Trey Anastasio Band). Tickets are on sale here.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.