South African soul band The Movers celebrated in new compilation – The Vinyl Factory

Published on

August 5, 2022



Incorporating elements of Marabi, Mbaqanga, jazz, funk and reggae.

Analog Africa has released a new compilation dedicated to South African soul band The Movers, called The Movers Vol​.​1 – 1970​-​1976.

The Movers originated in 1967 when brothers Norman and Oupa Hlongwane approached businessman Kenneth Siphayi, asking him to buy musical instruments from them in return for a share of future show and recording contracts.

Instead, Siphayi became their manager, helping them set up rehearsal space and introducing them to an organist.

Focusing on their 1970s output, the compilation highlights the band’s winning fusion of soul with Marabi, Mbaqanga, jazz, funk and reggae.

It follows the label’s release of the Orchester Massako’s eponymous disc in June.

Buy a copy of The Movers Vol​.​1 – 1970​-​1976 by Phonica, and check out the artwork and track listing below.

List of tracks:

1. Give five or more
2. Tau Special
3. Soweto Inn
4. Crazy Soul
5. Kudala Sithandana
6. Oupa is back
7. Balelé
8. Hot Coffee
9. Soul Party Concert
10. Ku-Ku-Chi
11. 2nd Ave
12. Phukeng Special
13. Six Mabones
14. A lot of time


Meze Audio launches new audiophile headphones

Comments are closed.