Snarky Puppy Presents New Album With “Trinity” Single And Live In-Studio Performance Video [Watch/Listen]

Grammy-winning progressive jazz collective Sarcastic puppy shared a preview of their new album, central empire, with the single “Trinity”. The song was composed and arranged by guitarist Marc Lettieri and comes with an 11-minute long studio performance video.

Released September 30 via Snarky Puppy’s own GroundUP Music to print, central empire was recorded in front of a studio audience over eight nights at Deep Ellum Art Company in Dallas, Texas. The album features 16 new tracks inspired in part by the town where the band grew up after reuniting at the University of North Texas’ legendary jazz program. The disc also includes the last recorded performance from the pioneer of 80s funk and the musical godfather of Snarky Puppy. Bernard Wrighttragically died at age 58 shortly after the sessions that produced the album.

Never afraid of redundancy, Snarky Puppy recorded the new album with a lineup of three guitarists, four keyboardists, two horns, two reeds, a violinist, three percussionists and three drummers, all led by the Snarky Puppy founder. . Michael League on bass. With videos accompanying the recording, the disc marks a return to the format in which Snarky Puppy was widely acclaimed and went viral after the 2013 release. We love it here. The album expands on the band’s eclectic influences and syncretic style, which fuses jazz, funk, rock and other genres into a singular blend.

“Snarky Puppy has always been a band that puts the sound of the music first,” League noted. “On this record, there was some collaboration in the writing process, but when a song is sent to the band and the musicians start making suggestions or changing things, our collective feeling really shines through. The songs ended up being a lot more direct and funkier than our previous albums, I think it reflects the many vibes of the city scene.

Snarky Puppy has teamed up with Media Osiristhe podcast network co-founded by Phishing lyricist Tom Marshallto produce a podcast documenting the writing and recording process of central empirewhich will be released this summer.

“Trinity” is now available on all streaming platforms. Watch the extended live version and listen to the song via Soundcloud in the players below. Pre-order central empire hereand click below to view album track list and band list.

Snarky Puppy – “Trinity” (extended version)

Snarky Puppy – “Trinity”


1. Keep it in mind
2. East Bay
3. Bet
4. Cliroy
5. Take it!
6. Portal
7. Broken Arrow
9. Medium Green
10. Fuel City
11. Free fall
12. Belmont
13. Pineapple
14. Honiara
15. Teddy Bear
16. Trinity

Show track list

Sarcastic puppy central empire Composition of the group

Bob Lanzetti – Electric Guitar
Mark Lettieri – Electric guitar
Chris McQueen – Electric guitar
Justin Stanton – Wurlitzer, Prophet 10 and Trumpet
Bobby Sparks – Hammond B3 Organ, ARP String Ensemble and Minimoog Model D
Bill Laurance – Fender Rhodes Mark 8, Yamaha CP70 electric piano and Minimoog Model D (solo)
Shaun Martin – Talkbox, Vocoder, Moog Little Phatty and Korg Kronos
Zach Brock – Violin
Mike “Maz” Maher – Trumpet
Jay Jennings – trumpet and flugelhorn
Chris Bullock – Bass clarinet and tenor sax (solo)
Bob Reynolds – tenor and soprano sax
Michael League – Electric Bass
Nate Werth – Percussion
Keita Ogawa – Percussion
Marcelo Woloski – Percussion
Jason “JT” Thomas – Drums
Larnell Lewis – Drums
Jamison Ross – Drums

See the list of groups

Comments are closed.