Kurt Vile Releases New Music From Upcoming Studio Album

American indie rock musician Kurt Vile returns with his first new music since 2018’s “Bottle It In”.

“Like Exploding Stones” is an epic seven-minute ride of psycho-laden indie grooves and scintillating post-punk aesthetics, with Vile crafting a fuzz-rich soundscape that’s the first taste of his new studio album “Watch My Moves” which is scheduled for April.

The songwriter self-produced ‘Watch My Moves’ with longtime collaborator Rob Schnapf (Richard Thompson, Elliott Smith) recording at Kurt’s new home studio, OKV Central, in Philadelphia’s Mount Airy neighborhood.

“When Waylon Jennings became an outlaw country artist, he loved recording at Hillbilly Central, which was Tompall Glaser’s studio,” Vile explains.

“OKV Central is my Mount Airy version of that. I’ve established myself here, and at the same time, I’m going back to my recording roots back home.”

Alongside Schnapf, the record also features longtime Vile band The Violators and James Stewart, plus special contributions from Chastity Belt, Cate Le Bon and percussionists Stella Mozgawa (Warpaint, Courtney Barnett) and Sarah Jones ( Hot Chip, Harry Styles).

The album features 15 songs, including a cover of Bruce Springsteen’s early ’80s studio release, “Wages Of Sin.”

“It’s about writing songs. It’s about lyrics. It’s about being the master of all areas of music,” Vile said, describing “Watch My Moves.”

“I always think upbeat music, even if it’s fried or sizzling. It’s my own version of a classic thing – it moves forward and backward at the same time.”

The release of “Watch My Moves” is scheduled for April 15, 2022. Pre-order it.

“Watch My Moves” Tracklist

1. Fly today
2. Flyin (like a fast train)
3. Upside down OKV Palace
4. Like exploding stones
5. Mount Airy Hill (Way Gone)
6. hey like a child
seven. jesus on a thread
8. Fo Sho
9. Fresh water
ten. Chazzy don’t mind
11. (Shiny things)
12. say the word
13. Wages of sin
14. Runner Kurt
15. plush leopard

Comments are closed.